NRL is one of the most popular rugby competitions in the world. The league was initially started in the year 1998 in Sydney with a total of 16 teams. NRL betting is very popular amongst sports fans. Betting on the NRL gets fans personally involved in the sport and with the ability to bet online, sports betting has grown significantly. All  NRL odds are available on the SportsBet website. Trustworthy sportsbooks provide the best NRL odds, and allow one to make informed choices.

Making informed choices also entails having an in-depth understanding of the game. The Sydney Roosters have won the most number of NRL premierships, taking out four premierships since 1998. However, the South Sydney Rabbitohs have the reputation of winning the most number of titles. They have won twenty-one titles since the inception of the Australian rugby league in 1908. 

National Rugby League – the origin 

As mentioned, the National Rugby League was founded in the year 1908 by J.J. Giltinan, as a high-level men’s only rugby club, in Sydney. Later in the year 1998, it was renamed the NRL, after a partnership was established between the Super League and the Australian Rugby League (ARL). The matches are usually played in both New Zealand and Australia, during the months of March up to October. The NRL Grand Final is known to be one of Australia’s most-watched sporting events.

 NRL Game Basics / What To Expect:

  • The NRL is arguably the highest quality rugby league competition in the world. Sixteen clubs from both Australia and New Zealand compete across a regular season of 25 rounds. This is followed by a final series where the top eight teams compete in four rounds of games. 
  • The first original league consisted of teams predominantly belonging to New South Wales. Since 1998, the competition has grown to now consist of teams from cities such as Auckland, Melbourne, and the Gold Coast.
  • The 2021 NRL will start on Thursday the 11th of March with the Melbourne Storm versus the South Sydney Rabbitohs at AMMI Park, Melbourn. This will be of great relief to those NRL fans and punters that are eagerly awaiting the start of the NRL season. NRL games will continue until the 3rd of October where the two best teams of the season will battle it out in the NRL Grand Final. 
  • Post the COVID outbreak, the NRL led the way by being the first Australia sporting codes to resume their competition. This was done under the combative leadership of the Australian Rugby League Commission’s chairman, Mr Peter V’landys.
  • Due to the pandemic outbreak of COVIDThe NRL was revamped into a 20 round competition in 2020. The 2020 NRL Grand Final saw the Melbourne Storm defeat the Penrith Panthers on the 25th of October at ANZ Stadium. 

The Teams:

There are 16 teams that come from different parts of Australia and New Zealand, as per the list below:

  • Brisbane Broncos – Brisbane, Queensland
  • Canberra Raiders – Canberra, Australian Capital territory
  • Cronulla – Sutherland Sharks – Sydney, New South Wales
  • Gold Coast Titans – Gold Coast, Queensland
  • Melbourne Storm – Melbourne, Victoria
  • New Zealand Warriors – Auckland, New Zealand
  • Wests Tigers – Sydney, New South Wales
  • Newcastle Knights – Newcastle, New South Wales
  • North Queensland Cowboys – Townsville, Queensland
  • Sydney Roosters – Sydney, New South Wales
  • Parramatta Eels – Sydney, New South Wales
  • Penrith Panthers – Sydney, New South Wales
  • South Sydney Rabbitohs – Sydney, New South Wales
  • Canterbury – Bankstown Bulldogs – Sydney, New South Wales
  • St. George Illawarra Dragons – Sydney, New South Wales / Wollongong, New South Wales
  • Manly Warringah Sea Eagles – Sydney, New South Wales

Subscribe to our mailing list

Get the latest game reviews, news, features, and more straight to your inbox